1951 - When India Lost Its Freedom, Yet Again!

Discussion on anything other than law. Such as current affairs, politics, religion, love, etc.

1951 - When India Lost Its Freedom, Yet Again!

Postby admin » Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:24 pm

Please continue discussion about this article here.

Salman
Being a law student myself and having studied history in graduation, I think it would be wrong to say that India was ruled by "outsiders" every now and then throughout past 1000 years. It is a very subjective term. I still wonder, by what yardstick, especially Indians, judge people as outsider or insider. Even Aryans came from outside, but how many Indians are really ready to admit it. The term outsiders has been invented to denote the Other, as opposed to the insider, the same. It is the part of process by which societies and groups exclude 'Others' whom they want to subordinate or who do not fit into their society. Lawyer/law students should not have such such jingoistic. Otherwise, the rest of the article is absolutely flawless.

Reply|2012-12-28 18:12:33 admin
Thank you for your comment. IMHO, there is a very simple test for outsider/insider. If you attack a people, loot their wealth, and take it to your place, you are an outsider. Plain and simple.

|117.205.144.xxx |2013-01-05 20:41:44 Salman
Seen that way, rulers from Delhi Sultanate or Mughal Dynasty didn't actually indulge in looting or plundering of India's wealth. However, the same could not be said for the Britishers, Nadir Shah et al. Anyway, I don't see any point in being bitter about injustices of the past.

|2013-01-06 06:35:26 admin
The article makes no claim about who is and who is not an outsider. It merely obliquely refers to the fact that India has been ruled by outsiders, which is true. It is you who raised this irrelevant issue of who is and who is not an outsider. And I am not sure why you brought it up.